Top News

Court Jails Two INEC Officials 42 Years For Receiving Bribes

Justice Nathan Musa of the Adamawa State High Court sitting in Yola on Thursday convicted and sentenced two officers of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to 42 years imprisonment for collecting bribes.

Justice Musa also directed the Inspector General of Police , Mohammed Adamu, and the International Police to produce former Minister of Petroleum, Diezani Allison-Madueke, to face prosecution over the N362 million she sent to the two convicted INEC staff in order to compromise the 2015 presidential election in state.

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) had arraigned the INEC officials: Ibrahim Mohammed Umar, Sahabo Iya Hamman, as well as the former Minister of Petroleum for conspiring to defraud the federal government with the intent to compromise the 2015 general elections.

Read Also: FACT CHECK: DMO Clarifies Nigeria’s External Debt

Justice Musa, in his judgement, stated that the court delivered the verdict after due diligence established a conspiracy between the persons, as such he convicted and sentenced the two INEC staff to seven years each on the three counts brought against them by the EFCC.

The judge further held that he was giving a lenient sentence since the accused were first-term offenders and that the sentence would run concurrently.

“The offence has a mandatory provision. I’m constrained by the law. They shall be sentenced to seven years imprisonment without the option of fine.

”However in view of plea to temper justice with mercy, I will allow the sentence to run concurrently,” he said.

13th April 2024
Nigerian Pantagraph