Kano Tribunal Removes Gov Yusuf, Declares APC’s Gawuna Winner

The Kano State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal on Wednesday sacked Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf, declaring the All Progressives Congress (APC)
candidate, Nasir Gawuna, winner of the March 18 governorship poll.

Yusuf, who contested on the platform of the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP), was declared winner of the election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Read Also: Falana Demands Coroner’s Inquest Into Mohbad’s Death

While Nasir Gawuna, his APC rival congratulated him, the party proceeded to court.

On Wednesday, the three-man panel ordered withdrawal of certificate of return which INEC presented to Governor Yusuf and directed a certificate of return to be issued to Gawuna.

The court deducted 165,663 votes from Gov Yusuf total as invalid votes, stating that the ballot papers (165,663) were not stamped or signed and therefore declared invalid.

Details later…

20th April 2024
Nigerian Pantagraph