Court Bars Sacked Oyo LG Chairmen, Others from Resuming Office

An Oyo State High Court sitting in Ibadan on Tuesday restrained 68 sacked council chairmen and chairmen of Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) in Oyo State from resuming office.

Justice Moshud A.A. Abass gave the order after entertaining an ex-parte application filed by the State Government in Suit No: I/78/2020, seeking to stop the Sacked local government chairmen from returning to their positions.

Justice Abass granted the four reliefs sought by the lead counsel to the State Government, Dr. Akin Onigbinde (SAN), including an order of interim injunction restraining the sacked chairmen from forcefully taking over the councils or taking steps capable of causing breach of peace in the state.

Read Also: FBI Report: Court Jails Mother, Son 3 Years Over $82.572 Fraud

Also restrained were the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami (SAN) Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Abubakar; Commissioner of Police, Oyo State Command, Shina Olukolu, and the Oyo State APC chairman, Akin Oke.

The parties and their agents were restrained from taking any step that could tamper with the pending hearing and determination of the Motion on Notice.

According to the Court, the sacked chairmen, as well as the four other defendants, their officers, agents, privies or otherwise, were restrained from taking steps that would cause a breach of peace by embarking on self-help to give effect to a letter dated 14th January 2020 with reference number HAGF/OYO/2020/VOL.I/1 issued by the Attorney General of the Federation to the sacked chairmen and the Inspector General of Police pending the hearing and determination of the motion on notice.

13th April 2024
Nigerian Pantagraph